I Started Counseling When I Was 6

I was having problems at school I guess, where I just had trouble standing up for myself.

So, my parents thought counseling was the best solution. My psychologist was someone who knew me since I was a baby so talking to her was pretty easy. The downfall to being so close with my psychologist though was that sometimes I didn’t tell her everything in fear of disappointing her. Eventually it did come out but it took longer than I feel it should have and sometimes I think maybe I wouldn’t have gone through certain things if I lacked the fear of disappointing her.

Anyways I guess I decided to write about this because a lot of the times I feel like I don’t need counseling and a few times over the years I would stop going to see my psychologist. But, every now and again I needed to go and I must say I’m glad it’s always an option for me.

Last year though when I went off to college my psychologist and I knew she couldn’t see me since I was many hours away but we would talk over my winter break. This never happened though. Unfortunately she passed away within my first few weeks away at college and I must say it was the first death to really affect me emotionally.

So, time passed and I didn’t find a new psychologist over winter break because it just slipped my mind. When I got back to school I remembered the offered a certain amount of free counseling sessions to students. I planned on going but I kept getting too busy to make an appointment.

Finally I made an appointment, but it was after a really horrible night and I kind of wish those events didn’t happen yet am thankful for them pushing me to get counseling. My first couple sessions kind of made me nervous and once I came back from summer break I did not plan on going anymore. I felt like I didn’t have enough wrong with me to see them and that I was wasting their time when they could be helping others with more serious problems than me.

Coming back to school this fall I decided to make another appointment though, just to see how things went. It’s hard to get a connection with a new psychologist after going to the same one for about 12 years. I wanted to give this a chance. Now I am going every two weeks and I’m slowly getting more comfortable delving into my thoughts and feelings with this new psychologist. I find counseling is very necessary for me because as much as I love my friends and can tell them anything there are some dark things that I would hate to burden them with.

My parting comment is that you don’t need to have a serious problem to go to counseling. Even if you are generally a happy person it’s just very helpful to go to someone and talk out things sometimes

Leave a comment