Silver Nitrate Book Review

Silver NitrateSilver Nitrate by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I know I’m always in for a good read when it comes to Silvia Moreno-Garcia’s books. And this one was definitely a read I enjoyed. I was excited to read it since the book was first announced and I honestly would have been even more excited had I known the two main characters were both Bisexual. This is one of the best Bisexual representations I’ve read all year where the focus isn’t on their sexuality. In this book, that aspect of their character was an added bonus.

This book is considered historical fiction, and that made me feel old as a 90s baby because this book is set in the 1990s in Mexico. I’m not ready for 2000s historical fiction. While it felt very 90s, especially with Montserrat’s t-shirts and overall fashion choices, I could’ve still read the same story in modern times. Montserrat actually would’ve been pretty popular in the PNW 90s scene. I understand the setting had to be the 90s due to the specific filming and dubbing lingo, and I appreciate that, but a lot of the more technical aspects went over my head. However, I do think the horror elements wouldn’t have been as impactful in another decade.

The pacing of this story is a big part of why it didn’t hit full stars for me. It was a pretty slow intro into the magical world and other horror aspects of this book. In that vein, it did kind of match the pacing of some classic horror films. If you find the pacing to be a bit slow in the beginning to middle, I highly recommend pushing forward because the back half of the book is well worth the wait. Things begin to get crazier and more unhinged as the book goes on, and it ended up being a really fun read for me overall. The Silver Nitrate playlist on Spotify is great for setting the mood of the book too.

One of my favorite aspects of the book is how both Montserrat and Tristan defy the Aryan mindset posed by the dead German man who tried to cast a magic spell and ritual through a film. They’re not the blonde-haired, blue-eyed people who are supposed to be naturally inclined to magical things. They’re dark-haired and darker-skinned and what the Germans would consider a race beneath those of the higher society Aryans. Yet, they both show they’re adept in magic without even really trying. I loved seeing Montserrat struggle with learning this German man’s magical knowledge while understanding his view on her and people like her. She was such a strong and amazing female character.

While this book still doesn’t hit the level of Mexican Gothic for me, I still really enjoyed it. I’ve enjoyed every book I’ve read by Silvia Moreno-Garcia so far and I will tell everyone to read her books because I want her to keep writing more. I’m looking for the next adventure she decides to take us readers on. Every book of hers is unique and well-researched. I highly recommend reading this book and her other books too.

View all my reviews

Leave a comment